New Orleans. Food. Food. Food.

Yes’m.

I can’t even begin to tell you how much I enjoyed my trip to the deep south.  Without a doubt, it’s the best trip for destination food I’ve ever had.  Seriously.  So let’s start there.

THE FOOD:

Mothers Restaurant’:  Just a few blocks from Bourbon Street.  Here was southern chicken and Turnip Greens at it’s finest.  I couldn’t decide which side to order, so, of course, I ordered all of them.  I had Cabbage, Red Beans and Rice, Green Beans.  The history of the place is cool too.  It’s written on the menu.  The owners sit by the door and greet everyone as you come in and thank you for coming as you leave.  High five me for that recommendation.

GW Fin’s:  Found on Beinville Street.  If you want a swanky place near Bourbon Street, go here.  I will say that I’ve had oysters 5 times while in NOLA.  And these were the best.  Dreamy food all around.

In the French Market District there’s a little seafood place called J’s Seafood Dock.  I got lucky; crawdad’s were in season.  We got a lesson on how to eat them, twist off the tail, suck out the juice from the body, peel off one side at a time from the tail, enjoy.  I DID!!!

img_6170-2

While wondering around the state of Lousyanna, as one google map declared, we found a little chicken shop.  Jenny’s Overstuffed Po-Boy’s & Chicken Shop.  I’ve been heavily avoiding meat since the beginning of the year.  But I walked in and immedietly knew I’d be eating Jennies Fried Chicken.  It’s what y’all have heard about.  Fried chicken at it’s absolute finest.  Her slaw was unbelievable too.  I don’t even like cole slaw.

The Original Brown Derby.  This crazy place was hidden in a gas station.  And not the clean kind.  I was slightly hesitant but it was the last day of my trip and the smell made it impossible to resist.  I went for the Radish Greens and Debi got BBQ ribs.  Once again, I enjoyed southern comfort food that only the south knows how to perfect.

Beignets.  You can find good ones everywhere.  I enjoyed mine at Cafe Du Monde and Morning Call in the city park.

As a second generation southerner,  we grew up on grits and cream of wheat.  It’s one of my favorite foods, I make some tasty grits, and so I wasn’t interested in trying any while there.  But, of course, we did and now I have new things to experiment with at home.  I found a shaved ice stand and a popsicle stand that were so yummy too.  I only had one meal that was not delicious.  It wasn’t bad just not delicious.  We went out of our way to find hole-in-the-wall, old school, real southern food and we came out as champs.

Leave a Reply

