Ferris Bueller, you’re my hero

If you did know me when I was in middle school, you definitely knew what my favorite movie was:  Ferris Bueller’s Day Off. It’s no exaggeration that I could quote every line of the entire movie. That’s what happens when you see something over 100 times within a year or so. (It’s still my all time favorite. And I’d like to formally thank John Hughes).

Remember this movie?  Anyone? Anyone?  If you forgot, pause here and go watch it on Netflix.  You won’t regret it.  These were kids who figured out how to work the system. Even as a pre-teen I recognized these special gifts and I sometimes think this was the key to my happiness.  Here’s what I noticed.

1-He was kind to everyone

What advantage does this give him? Every advantage. Besides the old saying that it’s the golden rule, being kind provided him opportunities that never would have appeared if he hadn’t been friends, or at least friendly with so many people. People cared about him because he cared about them. “Ferris Bueller? You know him?” “Yeah he’s getting me outta summer school”. They exchanged favors. And although nobody knows if he really just passed out at 31 Flavors or was dying of disease, if they had known what was really happening in downtown Chicago, I’m quite certain no one would’ve ratted him out.

2-He was oblivious to challenges.

Nothing was impossible. “The question isn’t “what are we going to do,” the question is “what aren’t we going to do?” “You can never go too far”. “The bold survive”.  Why would getting Sloan out of school be a problem?  The Sausage King of Chicago doesn’t hesitate or backdown to get what he wants.  It doesn’t even occur to him that he had obstacles.  

3-He’s an amazing best friend.  

He encourages Cameron to get up and out of the house.  He helps through what is clearly depression and pushes him to stand up for himself. “Cameron: I am not going to sit on my @$& as the events that affect me unfold to determine the course of my life. I’m going to take a stand. I’m going to defend it. Right or wrong, I’m going to defend it.”

4-He always looked on the bright side.

He got a computer instead of a car so what do he do? He learned how to hack.  Hacking back then was equally easier and harder than it is now.  He changed how many times he was absent…from the comfort of his own home.  And while he didn’t own a car, I’m sure he never had a problem getting rides.   

5-He believed in himself and put himself first.  

But in a good way. “Not that I condone fascism, or any -ism for that matter. -Ism’s in my opinion are not good. A person should not believe in an -ism, he should believe in himself. I quote John Lennon, “I don’t believe in Beatles, I just believe in me.”  We all should take care of ourselves first.  That way it’s actually easier to take care of others.

I love this movie.  So much.  Ferris Bueller, you’re still my hero. 

You’re still here? It’s Over. Go Home. Go.

Leave a Reply

