My 3 Favourite places in London

 

I don’t make daily intineraries when I travel and luckily my girlfriend was open to anything I wanted to do.  This opened up opportunities for us.  We were invited to amazing places and got to do things locals never even get to do.

My favourite places were not local tourists traps.  We got lucky and stumbled upon some fabulous spots that only would’ve been found because we were not on a schedule and when something looked interesting we went out of our way to seek it out.  But I had read a little about a few hidden gems in the city that called out to me.

It’s been a few months since I’ve been home and these three places are the ones that have been on my mind the most and will be the places I will revisit when I return.

1st on my list is Regents Canal in Shoreditch
I had read about the canal walk online.  It was one of the main reasons I was drawn to stay in Shoreditch.  This place is secluded and gorgeous and put me in my happy place.  Besides the scenery it had a perfect little outdoor eatery, The Towpath Cafe, on the water where they served Grilled Cheese sandwiches with jam.  Oh.  We walked along the water for a few miles.  The leaves were changing colors and it even smelled good.  Minus the ginormous spiders along the brick walls, this place is amazing.  I want to live there even though it’s cold and cloudy and not by a beach.

2nd was St Dunstan in the East.
I almost don’t want to share this one because I loved the solitude of it so much.  I’ve been there in my dreams and it has been calling to me.  For such a small space we stayed there for a long time.  At least until it started to rain.  It’s better in real life than any pictures.  I had seen this online too and knew right away that I needed to go there.  It really was the ONLY thing in London I felt that I HAD to go see.  Built in 1100.  It was damaged in the Great Fire of London in 1666.  Rebuilt in the early 1800’s and then bombed in 1941.  Now it’s used as a public garden.

3rd was Lovet Lane.
This is where you want to go to feel like you are in old London.  A real cobblestone street.  I loved the narrowness and uneven bricks.  It was quaint and cute.  I admire how Londoners take care of old things.  And how easy it is to step back in time.  West Coast America barely has anything a hundred years old.  I was amazed.  We stumbled upon it while walking to the next tube station because the one we planned on using was closed.  Lucky us.

 

Leave a Reply

