2016 REVOLUTION. Not resolution.

There’s about to be a forcible overthrow in 2016.   I’m putting an end to one way of life and starting over.  Every day.

I’m perfectly happy with who I am.  I don’t need character or flaw changes which a resolution implies.  I need evolving.  I need learning and growth and experiences.  I don’t like the idea of fixing something within me.  I’m not broken.

In 2016 this is how I plan to enrich my life.

  1. Every day I start today.  365 new and fresh mornings to do something good.  Good for myself, good for you, good for my community, my country, my world.  I want to put myself in places where goodness thrives.  Namely beaches and mountains and foreign countries and fields full of tulips and friends couches.  I’m forgetting any pain or problem of yesterday and not letting it drag down today.
  2. Take advantage of all opportunities that could possibly enrich my life.  This means I’ll be saying yes to a lot of new things.  And if you got a hold of last years list you may have noticed I like new things.  I got a certified bucket for making lists for this new year and I intend to have it overflowing.  I also say possible because I’m up for experiences and welcome mistakes because that’s how you learn.
  3. I exercise every day.  But this year I want to flex and stretch my brain too.  According to Khan Academy, “new research shows that the brain is like a muscle. It gets stronger with practice. Scientists have been able to show just how the brain grows and gets stronger when you learn. Scientists have shown that, when people study hard and learn new ways to study, their brains change and grow.”  So classes and lessons will be filling all my spare time, although I haven’t figured out when I’ll have spare time.

revolution

noun rev·o·lu·tion \ˌre-və-ˈlü-shən\

Definitions of revolution

  • A dramatic and wide-reaching change in the way something works or is organized or in people’s ideas about it:
  • A sudden, extreme, or complete change in the way people live, work, etc.

  • The action of moving around something in a path that is similar to a circle

  • A forcible overthrow of a government or social order in favor of a new system.

(as defined by Merrium-Webster and Oxford dictionaries)

Leave a Reply

